Lesson Notes for Mr. Santowski's HL Math Class

 

These are some lesson note oddities/peculiarities that I insist upon:

 

(1) Include the lesson date, lesson number and title into your notes

(2) You may write down any key terms/definitions that are presented

(3) Participate in the concept development/exploration/investigation  and include this into your notes

(4) Participate in lesson examples and make sure that the question (exact or paraphrased) is included as is YOUR attempt at a solution OR at my illustrated solution

(5) Feel free to print out the lesson notes BEFORE you come to class (as they will be uploaded on my web pages prior to the lesson being taught). Including these printouts plus your additions to the printed notes is a valid way of keeping your note book up to date.

(6) I do encourage you to do SOME of your lesson work & homework solutions & conceptual developments on the whiteboards. So get into the habit of taking pictures of your board work & posting these pictures of your work onto a Google site (which would represent an e-version (or extension) of your notebook



Monday, Feb 12


Lesson 85 - Distances in 3 Space

Link to Lesson 85 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 85 Notes as a ppt


Thursday, Feb 8


Lesson 84 - Intersections of Lines & Planes

Link to Lesson 84 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 84 Notes as a ppt


Sunday, Feb 4


Lesson 83 - Equation of a Plane

Link to Lesson 83 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 83 Notes as a ppt


Monday, Jan 29


Lesson 82 - Vector Equation of a Line

Link to Lesson 82 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 82 Notes as a ppt


Monday, Jan 22


Lesson 81 - Algebraic Vectors - Vector Product

Link to Lesson 81 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 81 Notes as a ppt


Thursday, Jan 18


Lesson 80 - Algebraic Vectors - Scalar Product

Link to Lesson 80 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 80 Notes as a ppt


Tuesday, Jan 16


Lesson 79 - Algebraic Vectors

Link to Lesson 79 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 79 Notes as a ppt


Sunday, Jan 14


Lesson 78 - Working with Geometric Vectors

Link to Lesson 78 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 78 Notes as a ppt


Thursday, Dec 7


Lesson 77 - Systems of Equations

Link to Lesson 77 Notes as a pdf


Tuesday, Nov 28


Lesson 76 - Binomial Theorem

Lesson 76 Notes as a pdf


Sunday, Nov 26


Lesson 75 - Proof by Induction

Link to Lesson 75 Notes as a pdf


Tuesday, Nov 21


Lesson 74 - Exponential Form of Complex Numbers

Link to Lesson 74 Notes as a pdf


Sunday, Nov 19


Lesson 73 - de Moivres Theorem & Complex Numbers

Link to Lesson 73 Notes as a pdf


Wednesday, Nov 15


Lesson 72 - Geometric & Polar Representation of Complex Numbers

Link to Lesson 72 Notes as a pdf


Monday, Nov 13


Lesson 71 - Introduction to Complex Numbers

Link to Lesson 71 Notes as a pdf


Tuesday, Nov 7


Lesson 70 - The Series (1 + x)k and Error in Taylor and MacLaurin Series and Polynomials

Link to Lesson 70 Notes as a pdf


Sunday, Nov 5


Lesson 69 - Working with Taylor and MacLaurin Series and Polynomials

Link to Lesson 69 Notes as a pdf


Monday, Oct 30


Lesson 68 - Introduction to Taylor and MacLaurin Series and Polynomials

Link to Lesson 68 Notes as a pdf


Monday, Oct 23 & Thursday, Oct 26


Lesson 67 - Working With Power Series

Link to Lesson 67 Notes as a pdf


Thursday, Oct 19


Lesson 66 - Introduction to Power Series

Link to Lesson 66 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 66 Notes as a ppt


Sunday, Oct 15


Lesson 65 - Alternating Series and Absolute and Conditional Convergence

Link to Lesson 65 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 65 Notes as a ppt


Sunday, Oct 1


Lesson 64 - Convergence Test for Infinite Series

Link to Lesson 64 Notes on the Integral Test as a pdf and here is Lesson 64 Notes on the Integral Test as a ppt


Link to Lesson 64 Notes on the Comparison & Ratio Tests as a pdf and here is Lesson 64 Notes on the Comparison & Ratio Tests as a ppt



Wednesday, Sep 27


Lesson 63 - Infinite Series - An Introduction

Link to Lesson 63 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 63 as a ppt



Wednesday, Sep 20


Lesson 62 - Improper Integrals

Link to Lesson 62 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 62 as a ppt



Thursday, Sep 14


Lesson 61 - Infinite Sequences

Link to Lesson 61 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 61 as a ppt



Sunday, Sep 10


Lesson 60 - L'Hopital's Rule

Link to Lesson 60 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 60 as a ppt



Wednesday, Sep 6


Lesson 59 - IVT, MVT and RT

Link to Lesson 59 Notes on IVT as a pdf and here are the Lesson 59 Notes on RT & MVT as a pdf



Wednesday, Aug 30


Lesson 58 - Applications of Differential Equations

Link to Lesson 58 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 58 as a ppt



Monday, Aug 28


Lesson 57 - First Order Linear Differential Equations

Link to Lesson 57 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 57 as a ppt



Thursday, Aug 24


Lesson 56 - Homogeneous Differential Equations

Link to Lesson 56 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 56 as a ppt



Tuesday, Aug 22


Lesson 55 - Euler's Method - Numerical Solutions to Differential Equations

Link to Lesson 55 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 55 as a ppt



Monday, Aug 20


Review - Slope Fields and Differential Equations

Link to Lesson 54 Notes as a pdf and here are the same Questions, but now with solutions



Wednesday, Aug 16


Summer Review Lesson & Differential Equations

Link to Lesson Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson as a ppt



Sunday, May 22


Lesson 54 - Slope Fields

Link to Lesson 54 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 54 as a ppt



Tuesday, May 16


Lesson 53 - Separable Differential Equations

Link to Lesson 53 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 53 as a ppt



Sunday, May 14


Lesson 52 - Differential Equations

Link to Lesson 52 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 52 as a ppt



Wednesday, May 10


Lesson 51 - Fundamental Theorem of Calculus, Part 2

Link to Lesson 51 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 51 as a ppt



Monday, May 8


Lesson 50 - DAY 2 - Integration Techniques

Link to DAY 2 Lesson 50 Notes as a pdf



Thursday, May 4


Lesson 50 - Integration by Parts

Link to Lesson 50 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 50 as a ppt



Tuesday, May 2


Lesson 49 - Volumes of Revolution - Cylinders

Link to Lesson 49 DAY 2 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 49 DAY 2 as a ppt



Monday, Apr 24


Lesson 49 - Volumes of Revolution

Link to Lesson 49 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 49 as a ppt



Thursday, Apr 13


Lesson 48 - Area Between Curves

Link to Lesson 48 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 48 as a ppt



Tuesday, Apr 11


Lesson 47 - Integration by Substitution

Link to Lesson 47 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 47 as a ppt



Wednesday, Apr 5 & Sunday, Apr 9


Lesson 46 - Working with Definite Integrals

Link to Lesson 46 Notes as a pdf and here is Lesson 46 as a ppt



Monday, Apr 3


Lesson 45 - Definite Integrals & Areas under Curves

Link to Lesson 45 Notes as a pdf



Thursday, Mar 30


DAY 2 for Lesson 44 - Antiderivatives, Integrals & Areas under Curves

Link to Lesson 44 Notes - DAY 2 for Antiderivatives as Integrals and then here is the link to the ppt notes for Antiderivatives and Areas Under Curves



Tuesday, Mar 28


DAY 1 for Lesson 44 - Motion and Antiderivatives

Link to Lesson 44 Notes - DAY 1



Sunday, Mar 26


DAY 4 for Lesson 43 - Application of Rates of Change

Link to Lesson 43 Notes - DAY 4 as a pdf and Lesson 43 Notes - DAY 4 as a powerpoint



Wednesday, Mar 22


DAY 3 for Lesson 43 - Application of Rates of Change

Link to Lesson 43 Notes - DAY 3 as a pdf and Lesson 43 Notes - DAY 3 as a powerpoint



Monday, Mar 20


DAY 2 for Lesson 43 - Application of Rates of Change

Link to Lesson 43 Notes - DAY 2 as a pdf and Lesson 43 Notes - DAY 2 as a powerpoint



Monday, Mar 13


DAY 1 for Lesson 43 - Application of Rates of Change

Link to Lesson 43 Notes - DAY 1 as a pdf and Lesson 43 Notes - DAY 1 as a powerpoint



Sunday, Mar 5


Lesson 42 - Implicit Differentiation

Link to Lesson 42 Notes as a pdf and Lesson 42 Notes as a powerpoint



Wednesday, Mar 1


Lesson 41 - Further Derivatives - Trig Inverse Functions

Link to Lesson 41 Notes as a pdf and Lesson 41 Notes as a powerpoint


Thursday, Feb 23


Lesson 40 - Further Differentiation Methods

Link to Lesson 40 PROBLEM SET


Sunday, Feb 18


Lesson 39 - Derivatives of Transcendental Functions

Link to Lesson 39 as a powerpoint and link to Lesson 39 as a pdf

Link to Lesson 39 as a PROBLEM SET


Monday, Feb 13


Lesson 38 - Graphical Differentiation

Link to Lesson 38 as a powerpoint and link to Lesson 38 as a pdf


Thursday, Feb 9


Lesson 37 - Analyzing Polynomial Functions using Second Derivatives

Link to Lesson 37 as a powerpoint and link to Lesson 37 as a pdf


Tuesday, Feb 7


Lesson 36 - Using the Power Rule: Working with Functions

Link to Lesson 36


Wednesday, Feb 1 & Sunday, Feb 5


Lesson 35 - Using Derivatives: Working with Polynomial Functions

Link to Lesson 35


Monday, Jan 30


Lesson 34 - Instantaneous Rates of Change & Derivatives

Link to Lesson 34


Thursday, Jan 26


Lesson 33 - Limits & Continuity

Link to Lesson 33 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Monday, Jan 23


Lesson 32 - Introduction to Limits - DAY 2

Link to DAY 2 of Lesson 32 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Thursday, Jan 19


Lesson 32 - Introduction to Limits

Link to WS on Two Sided Limits

Link to Lesson 32 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Tuesday, Jan 17


Lesson 31 - Average and Instantaneous Rates of Change


Link to Lesson 31 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Sunday, Jan 15


Lesson 31 - Rates of Change


Link to Problem Set for Lesson 31


Wednesday, Jan 11


Lesson 30 - Circles, Arcs & Sectors


Link to Problem Set for Lesson 30


Monday, Jan 9


Lesson 29 - Triangle Trig


Link to Problem Set for Lesson 29


Tuesday, Dec 6


Lesson 28 - Quadratic Trig Equations


Link to Lesson 28 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Sunday, Dec 4


Lesson 27 - Linear Trig Equations


Link to Lesson 27 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Monday, Nov 28


Lesson 26 - Double Angle/Half Angle Identities


Link to Lesson 26 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Wednesday, Nov 23


Lesson 25 - Addition/Subtraction Identities


Link to Lesson 25 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Monday, Nov 21


Lesson 24 - Basic Identities


Link to Lesson 24 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Thursday, Nov 17


Lesson 23 - Secondary Trigonometric Functions & Inverse Trig Functions


Link to Lesson 23 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Tuesday, Nov 15


Lesson 22 - Graphs of Trigonometric Functions


Link to Lesson 22 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Sunday, Nov 13


Lesson 21 - Review of Right Triangle Trigonometry


Link to Lesson 21 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Wednesday, Nov 9


Lesson 20 - Laws of Logarithms


Link to Lesson 20 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Monday, Nov 7


Lesson 19 - The Logarithmic Function - An Inverse Perspective


Link to Lesson 19 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Tuesday, Nov 1


Lesson 18 - Solving Exponential Equations Using Logarithms


Link to Lesson 18 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Tuesday, Oct 25


Lesson 17 - Solving Exponential Equations


Link to Lesson 17 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Sunday, Oct 23


Lesson 16 - Algebra with Exponents - Review of Exponent Laws


Link to Lesson 16 as pdf


Wednesday, Oct 19


Lesson 15 - Graphs of Rational Functions


Link to Lesson 15 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Monday, Oct 17


Lesson 14 - Working with Polynomials: Inequalities, FTA, Multiplicity & Roots of Unity


Link to Lesson 14 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Sunday, Oct 2


Lesson 13 - Working with Polynomial Equations


Link to Lesson 13 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT.


Wednesday, Sept 28


Lesson 12 - Polynomial Functions - Working with Complex Numbers


Link to Lesson 12 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT


Monday, Sept 26


Lesson 11 - Polynomial Functions - Working with Quadratic Fcns


Link to Lesson 11 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT


Thursday, Sept 22


Lesson 10 - Inverses & Inverse Functions


Link to Lesson 10 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT


Tuesday, Sept 20


Lesson 9 - Composition of Functions


Link to Lesson 9 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT


Sunday, Sept 18


Lesson 8 - Review of Sequences, Series and Sigma Notation


Link to Lesson 8 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT


Monday, Sept 5


Lesson 7 - Combinations of Functions


Link to Lesson 7 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT


Thursday, Sept 1


Lesson 6 - Functions & Transformations - New Concepts & Connections


Link to Lesson 6 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT


Tuesday, August 30


Lesson 5 - Functions & Transformations


Link to Lesson 5 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT


Sunday, August 28


Lesson 4 - Analyzing Parent Function - Algebraic Perspective


Link to Lesson 4 as pdf and here is the link to the same lesson as PPT


Wednesday, August 24


Lesson 3 - Analyzing Parent Function


Link to Lesson 3 as pdf and here is the link to the Function Analysis Template that you may need to answer the questions.


Monday, August 22


Lesson 2 - Review of Function Concepts


Link to Lesson 2 as pdf and here is the link to the EVERYTHING Graph that you will need to answer the questions.


Thursday, August 18


Lesson 1 - Working with Absolute Value


Link to Lesson 1 as pdf