Lesson Notes for Mr. Santowski's IB Math Studies Class

 

These are some lesson note oddities/peculiarities that I insist upon:

 

(1) Include the lesson date, lesson number and title into your notes

(2) You may write down any key terms/definitions that are presented

(3) Participate in the concept development/exploration/investigation  and include this into your notes

(4) Participate in lesson examples and make sure that the question (exact or paraphrased) is included as is YOUR attempt at a solution OR at my illustrated solution

(5) Feel free to print out the lesson notes BEFORE you come to class (as they will be uploaded on my web pages prior to the lesson being taught). Including these printouts plus your additions to the printed notes is a valid way of keeping your note book up to date.

(6) Keep your notebook well organized and up-to-date. I will periodically, without advance notice, collect and MARK your lesson notes!!!!

 

 

Lesson Date

 

Lesson Title/Number Link to Lesson Notes
 

Tuesday, March 12

 

Lesson 81 - 3D Geometry Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, March 5

 

Lesson 80 - Depreciation Link to Lesson Notes

 

Friday, Feb 22

 

Lesson 79 - Compound Interest Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, Feb 19

 

Lesson 78 - Simple Interest Link to Lesson Notes

 

Friday, Jan 11

 

Lesson 77 - Analzying Functions - First Derivative Test Link to Lesson Notes

 

Thursday, Jan 10

 

Lesson 76 - Analzying Functions - Intervals of Increase and Decrease Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, Jan 8

 

Lesson 75 - Analzying Functions - Maximum & Minimum Points Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, Dec 11

 

Lesson 74 - Working with the Derivative Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, Nov 27

 

Lesson 73 - The Derivative as a Function Link to Lesson Notes

 

Thursday, Nov 22

 

Lesson 72 - Instantaneous Rates of Change - Introducing the Derivative Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, Nov 20

 

Lesson 71 - Average Rates of Change Link to Lesson Notes

 

Thursday, Nov 8

 

Lesson 70 - Chi Squared Test for Independence Link to Lesson Notes

 

Thursday, Oct 25

 

Lesson 68 - Least Squares Regression Line Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, Oct 23

 

Lesson 67 - Working with Pearson's Correlation Coefficient Link to Lesson Notes

 

Thursday, Oct 18

 

Lesson 66 - Bivariate Stats - Correlation Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, Oct 16

 

Lesson 65 - Introduction to Bivariate Stats - Scatterplots & Lines of Best Fit Link to Lesson Notes

 

Thursday, Oct 4

 

Lesson 63 - Working with Standard Deviation Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, Oct 2

 

Lesson 62 - Introduction to Standard Deviation Link to Lesson Worksheets

Link to Lesson Powerpoint

 

Friday, Sept 28

 

Lesson 61 - Working with Grouped Data Link to Lesson Notes

 

Thursday, Sept 27

 

Lesson 60 - Working with Ogives Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, Sept 18

 

Lesson 59 - Working with Frequency Distribution Tables Link to Lesson Notes

 

Friday, Sept 14

 

Lesson 58 - Review of Univariate Statistics Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, Sept 11

 

Lesson 57 - Laws of Probability Link to Lesson Notes

 

Friday, Sept 6

 

Review of Probability Link to Lesson Notes

 

Thursday, Sept 6

 

Lesson 56 - Conditional Probability Link to Lesson Notes

 

Friday, August 31

 

Lesson 55 - Probability of Compound Events: Venn Diagrams Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, August 28

 

Lesson 54 - Probability of Compound Events: Visualizations Link to Lesson Notes

 

Friday, August 24

 

Lesson 53 - Review of Single Event Probability Link to Lesson Notes

 

Friday, August 10

 

Lesson 50 - Review of Logic Link to Lesson Notes

 

Tuesday, August 7

 

Lesson 49 - Review of Sets & Venn Diagrams Link to Lesson Notes

 

Fri, May 25

 

Lesson 48 - Validity of Simple Arguments Link to Lesson Notes

 

Mon, May 7 & May 21

 

Lesson 47 - Implication Link to Lesson Notes

 

Fri, May 4

 

Lesson 46 - Truth Tables Link to Lesson Notes

 

Wed, May 2

 

Lesson 45 - Introduction to Logic: Propositions Link to Lesson Notes

 

Wed - Mon, April 11 - 16

 

Lesson 40 - Working With Functions

Lesson 41 - Working With Equations & the TI84

Link to Lesson Notes

Link to Cirrito Text Chap 8 and the Answers are here

 

Friday, Mar 9

 

Lesson 38 - Modeling Periodic Phenomenon Link to Lesson Notes
 

Wednesday, Mar 7

 

Lesson 37 - Introduction to Periodic Phenomenon Link to Lesson Notes
 

Friday, Feb 24

 

Lesson 36 - Problem Solving with Quadratic Relations Link to Lesson Notes
 

Wednesday, Feb 22

 

Lesson 35 - Equation Writing & Quadratic Relations Link to Lesson Notes
 

Monday, Feb 13

 

Lesson 34 - Investigating Quadratic Relations Link to Lesson Notes - Experimental Outline and then Link to Lesson Notes - Experimental Procedures
 

Friday, Feb 10

 

Lesson 33b - Review of Quadratic Algebra Link to Lesson Notes
 

Monday, Feb 6

 

Lesson 33 - Review of Quadratic Algebra Link to Lesson Notes
 

Wednesday, Feb 1

 

Reveiw Lesson - Working with all three Methods Link to Lesson Notes
 

Monday, Jan 9

 

Lesson 26 - Applications of Right Triangle Trigonometry Link to Lesson Notes
 

Wednesday, Nov 23

 

Lesson 23 - Geometric Series Link to Lesson Notes
 

Monday, Nov 21

 

Lesson 22 - Geometric Sequences Link to Lesson Notes
 

Wednesday, Nov 16

 

Lesson 20 - Arithmetic Series Link to Lesson Notes
 

Monday, Nov 14

 

Lesson 19 - Arithmetic Sequences Link to Lesson Notes
 

Wednesday, Nov 9

 

Lesson 18 - Exploring Sequences Link to Lesson Notes
 

Friday, Oct 21

 

Lesson 17 - Graphing Exponential Equations Link to Lesson Notes
 

Wednesday, Oct 19

 

IN CLASS ASSIGNMENT - Growth & Decay Link to ASSIGNMENT
 

Friday, Oct 14

 

Lesson 16 - Applying Exponential Equations - Growth & Decay Link to Lesson Notes
 

Wednesday, Oct 12

 

Lesson 15 - Exploring Exponential Equations Link to Lesson Notes
 

Monday, Oct 10

 

Lesson 14 - Introduction to Exponential Growth & Decay - M&M Lab Link to Lab Activity
 

Friday, Sep 30

 

Lesson 13 - Solving Linear Inequalities Link to Lesson Notes
 

Monday, Sep 26

 

Lesson 12 - Applying Linear Systems Link to Lesson Notes
 

Friday, Sep 23

 

Lesson 11 - Solving Linear Systems Algebraically Link to Lesson Notes
 

Monday, Sep 19

 

Lesson 10 - Solving Linear Systems Graphically Link to Lesson Notes
 

Wednesday, Sep 7

 

Lesson 9 - Applications of Linear Equations Link to Lesson Notes
 

Monday, Sep 5

 

Lesson 8 - Writing and Representing Linear Equations - PART 2 Link to Lesson Notes
 

Friday, Sep 2

 

Lesson 8 - Writing and Representing Linear Equations Link to Lesson Notes
 

Wednesday, Aug 31

 

Lesson 7 - Solving Linear Equations Link to Lesson Notes
 

Monday, Aug 22

 

Lesson 5 - Modelling with Linear Functions Link to Lesson Task
 

Monday, Aug 15

 

Lesson 4 - Scientific Notation Link to Lesson Notes
 

Wednesday, Aug 10

 

Lesson 3 - Real Number Sets Link to Lesson Notes
 

Monday, Aug 8

 

Lesson 2 - Rounding Errors Link to Lesson Notes
 

Friday, Aug 5

 

Lesson 1 - Rounding & Significant Figures Link to Lesson Notes