From this page, you can connect to various links that will help you to be successful as you work through the course.



Date Announcements

Monday, May 30

 


This week's focus is on applications of derivatives. The first application was the study of motion, so some homework questions have been posted in the HW link regarding Calculus and motion.

 

Monday, May 23

 


GOOD LUCK ON YOUR EXAMS

 

Thursday, May 12

 


The content for the Unit Test has been posted in the Homework link as well as some suggestions for Test Prep

 

Tuesday, April 26

 


Our next quiz date has been announced - Thursday, April 28 for BLOCK A and Friday, April 29 for BLOCK G. The quiz will cover our intro concepts in Calculus ==> average rates of change, instantaneous rates of change, "first principles", power rule, eqns of tangents and normals.

Suggestions for QUIZ PREP are posted in the Homework link

 

Thursday, April 7

 


I have posted some hints/suggestions/tips for the IA. Check the Portfolio Assignments link

 

Tuesday, April 5

 


For the A BLOCK CLASS, we are in the computer lab Rm 2067 on Thursday to work on our portfolio

 

Tuesday, April 5

 


I have posted a set of simplified instructions to help you generate the stellar patterns using geogebra and geometers sketchpad programs. See Portfolio Assignments link

 

Monday, Mar 28

 


The PORTFOLIO assignment has been posted. See Portfolio Assignments link. The due date has been set as Wednesday, April 13th at 08:30 at the High School Office

 

Monday, Mar 14

 


Test Prep suggestions for the Analytical Trig/Trig Fcns Test have been posted. See homework link

 

Monday, Mar 7

 


Quiz Prep suggestions for the Analytical Trig Quiz have been posted. See homework link

 

Friday, Feb 18

 


The homework for Lesson 41 is posted and I am expecting it to be handed in on Monday, Feb 22 (Block A) and on Tuesday, Feb 23 (Block G). See homework link

 

Thursday, Feb 10

 


The next UNIT TEST date for Sequences, Series, Triangle Trig & Circle Geometry has been set. See the Important dates link or the February schedule.

 

Tuesday, Feb 1

 


The next quiz date for Triangle Trig has been set. See the Important dates link or the February schedule.

 

Monday, Jan 31

 


The homework for Lesson 37 is posted (see HW link). A key part of the homework is revisions of our last quiz on Sequences & Series. Correct ALL mistakes made on the quiz.

 

Friday, Jan 21

 


The homework for Lesson 32/33 on Triangle Trig Review is posted (see HW link). Have it prepared for Monday Jan 24 (Block A) or Tuesday (Block H)

 

Monday, Jan 10

 


The homework for Lesson 30 on Summation Notation is listed in the Homework Section. I have included a link to the Larson text, but not the answers. We will go through the answers in the next class

 

Wednesday, Nov 24

 


I've posted another review option .... a logs quiz given 4 years ago. See Homework link. I have also listed suggested questions from your textbook

 

Tuesday, Nov 23

 


The answer key to Lesson 25 word problems worksheet is now posted. See either the Lesson Notes link or the November Schedule

 

Friday, Nov 19

 


The schedule for the rest of the 2010 year is now set, including our final topic on Sequences & Series. The Nov/Dec is updated, including ICARE and the Christmas break

See the November Schedule

 

Wednesday, Nov 17

 


Updated Important Dates for upcoming QUIZZES and TESTS!!!!! GASP!!! AAARRRGGGGHHHHH!!!!

See Important Dates link or November Schedule

 

Tuesday, Nov 9

 


I have posted some suggested review exercises from the textbook.

HW (NOTE: THESE ARE SUGGESTED QUESTIONS ==> DO AS MANY AS REQUIRED AND INCLUDE SOME VARIETY IN THE QUESTIONS YOU CHOOSE TO ANSWER

IB Textbook:

REVIEW SET 3A, p84, Q1-6,8-10

REVIEW SET 3B, p84, Q5-10

REVIEW SET 3C, p85, Q2-4,6-10

REVIEW SET 3D, p86, Q1d,2c,3,5-8


I have posted some word problems involving applications of exponential functions. See the Homework page

 

Thursday, Nov 4

 


The date for our quiz has been set. Check the November Schedule or the Important Date links.

 

Wednesday, Nov 3

 


As some of you have already asked ..... I am NOT expecting any HW to be submitted tomorrow as none was assigned prior to the Semester break.

 

Wednesday, Nov 3

 


I hope you have had a GREAT break and have missed math terribly!!!! HAHAHAHAHA!!! See you in class on Thursday!

 

Wednesday, Oct 13

 


Here is a link to NEWLY POSTED TIPS?RECOMMENDATIONS for your IA

 

Tuesday, Oct 12

 


Here is a link to studying the effect of the various parameters of the logistic function

 

Friday, Oct 8

 


Justine P has passed onto me a website for downloading the Virtual TI on to your MACs ==> http://education.ti.com/calculators/downloads/US/Software/Detail?id=286

 

Wednesday, Oct 6

 


The due date of our first IA has been set, as have our in class work periods. See the October schedule

Additionally, I have posted some tips/suggestions that I strongly advise you to read and keep in mind as you work through the portfolio

 

Tuesday, Oct 5

 


NOTICE THE CHANGE IN OUR DUE DATE FOR our first assignment - a modelling "mini" portfolio

You have until Friday, Oct 8 until 3pm to submit the assignment

 

Monday, Sept 27

 

 

Here is a practice worksheet for simple rational functions. The first 2 pages are EXPLANATIONS and the last 2 have problems for practice


Tuesday, Sept 28

 


I have set up our first assignment - a modelling "mini" portfolio, which addressess the point of why we study transformations. The assignment can be found at the "Portfolio Assignments" link or here ==> Using Transformations to Model Data

You have until Thursday, Oct 7 to complete the assignment

 

Monday, Sept 27

 

Here are some practice sheets for transformations

Transformations Review #1

Transformations Review #2

Transformations Review #3

 

Here is a practice worksheet for simple rational functions. The first 2 pages are EXPLANATIONS and the last 2 have problems for practice


Thursday, Sept 23

 

OUR NEXT MINOR ASSESSMENT DATE SET

Our next QUIZ DATES have been set. Check the September Schedules or the Important Dates link

Tuesday, Sept 21

 

Here is a link to some graph paper (from http://Konigi.com) that I think is good for taking classnotes and completing homework as it has BOTH a grid and workspace/lines for notes/solution. Print the Storyboard with Notes paper

 

Tuesday, Sept 14

 

REVIEW QUESTIONS FOR THE UPCOMING TEST HAVE BEEN POSTED IN THE HOMEWORK LINK. Please note that the questions are simply suggestions to guide your studying. Spend your time wisely reviewing concepts/skills that are difficult. DO NOT SIMPLY DO QUESTIONS THAT YOU KNOW HOW TO DO IN THE FIRST PLACE!


A link to a review posted by Mr Nourse & Ms Peabody

 

ANSWERS for the Review are posted here


Tuesday, Sept 7

 

Update in our schedule for our third unit on Functions ==> the September schedules have been updated through to the end of Sept.

 

Wednesday, Sept 1

 

FOR BLOCK A and BLOCK G CLASSES ==> NOTE change in quiz date!!!

 

Tuesday, August 31

 

The suggested Unit Review questions have been posted. Check the Homework link for details. If you need any help, please attend tutorial sessions on Wednesday, Sep 1 & Thursday, Sep 2 & Friday, Sep 3

 

Friday, August 27

 

OUR FIRST MAJOR - UNIT TEST

THE DATE OF OUR FIRST MAJOR ASSESSMENT (UNIT TEST) HAS BEEN SET!!!! Check the Important Dates link!!!!

 

Friday, August 27

 

OUR NEXT MINOR ASSESSMENT (QUAD QUIZ!!!!

THE DATE OF OUR NEXT MINOR ASSESSMENT (QUAD FCNS QUIZ) HAS BEEN SET!!!! Check the Important Dates link!!!!

 

Thursday, August 12

 

Note the CHANGE in the Quiz #1 Date (this way our quiz covers LESS topics!!!)

 

Tuesday, August 10

 

The Solution Key to the Skills Quiz is posted in the Homework Link

 

Wednesday, August 4

 

The date of your first quiz is posted. Check the Important Dates link!

 

Tuesday, August 3

 

Welcome to IB Math SL1. I hope you have a great year!! I look forward to working with you this year!