Lesson Notes for Mr. Santowski's IB Math SL1 Classes

 

These are some lesson note oddities/peculiarities that I insist upon:

 

(1) Include the lesson date, lesson number and title into your notes

(2) You may write down any key terms/definitions that are presented

(3) Participate in the concept development/exploration/investigation  and include this into your notes

(4) Participate in lesson examples and make sure that the question (exact or paraphrased) is included as is YOUR attempt at a solution OR at my illustrated solution

(5) Feel free to print out the lesson notes BEFORE you come to class (as they will be uploaded on my web pages prior to the lesson being taught). Including these printouts plus your additions to the printed notes is a valid way of keeping your note book up to date.

 

 

Lesson Date

 

Lesson Title/Number Link to Lesson Notes

Friday, May 20

 

L62 - Binomial Expansions

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Thursday, May 20

 

L61 - Binomial Distributions

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Thursday, May 13

 

L58 - Normal Distributions

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Monday, April 19

 

L57 - Expected Value

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Monday, April 12

 

L56 - Discrete Random Variables

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Monday, April 12

 

L55 - Conditional Probability

 

Link to Probability Video #1

Link to Probability Video #2

Link to Probability Video #3


 

Monday, April 12

 

L54 - Probability with Venn Diagrams

 

Link to Probability Video #1


 

Thursday, April 8

 

Intro to Probability - Alternate Video Links

 

Link to Probability Video #1

Link to Probability Video #2

Link to Probability Video #3

Link to Probability Video #4

Link to Probability Video #5

Link to Probability Video #6

Link to Probability Video #7


 

Wednesday, April 7

 

L54 - Probability of Compound Events

 

Link to Probability Video #1

Link to Probability Video #2


 

Thursday, Mar 25

 

T6.5 - Intro to Probability

 

Link to Probability Video #1

Link to Probability Video #2


 

Thursday, Mar 17

 

T6.1 - Grouped & Cumulative Data

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Wednesday, Mar 10

 

T6.1 - Introduction to Statistics

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Monday, Mar 8

 

T5.3 - Vectors & Motion

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Wednesday, Mar 3

 

T5.3 - Lines in Space

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Thursday, Feb 25

 

T5.3 - Vector & Parametric Equations of Lines

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Tuesday, Feb 23

 

T5.2 - Scalar (Dot) Product of Vectors

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Friday, Feb 12

 

T5.1 - Vector Equations

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Wednesday, Feb 10

 

T5.1 - 3D Vectors

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Monday, Feb 8

 

T5.1 - Vectors & Co-ordinate Geometry

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Monday, Feb 1

 

T5.1 - Vector Components

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


 

Friday, Jan 29

 

T5.1 - Introduction to Vectors

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


Link to Class Lesson Handout #1

Link to Class Lesson Handout #2


 

Friday, Jan 22

 

T4.4 - Linear Systems & Matrices

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Thursday, Jan 21

 

T4.3 - Inverse of Matrices

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Monday, Jan 18

 

T4.2 - Multiplication of Matrices

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Monday, Jan 18

 

T4.2 - Multiplication of Matrices

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Thursday, Jan 14

 

T4.1 - Introduction to Matrices

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Tuesday, Jan 12

 

T3.3 - Double Angle Formula

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Friday, Jan 8

 

T3.2 - Trigonometric Identities

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Tuesday, Jan 5

 

T3.5 - Trigonometric Equations

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Friday, Dec 4

 

T3.4 - Trigonometric Functions - Periodic Phenomenon

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Wednesday, Nov 25

 

T3.4 - Trigonometric Functions

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Monday, Nov 23

 

T3.1 - Radian Measure, Areas of Sectors & Arc Length

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Friday, Nov 20

 

T3.6 - Sine Law & The Ambiguous Case

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Monday, Nov 16

 

T3.2 - Right Triangle Trig, Sine Law & Cosine Law

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Friday, Nov 13

 

T2.5 - Modeling with Quadratic Functions

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Friday, Oct 23

 

T2.6 - Algebra of Quadratic Functions - Quadratic Formula

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Wednesday, Oct 21

 

T2.5 - Algebra of Quadratic Functions - Completing the Square

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Monday, Oct 19

 

T2.5 - Algebra of Quadratic Functions - Factoring

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Friday, Oct 16

 

T2.5 - Graphs of Quadratic Functions

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Class Notes - Worksheet

Monday, Oct 12

 

T2.7 - Exponential & Logarithmic Equations

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Friday, Oct 9

 

T1.2 - Laws of Logarithms

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Tuesday, Sep 29

 

T2.8 - Base e and Natural Logarithms

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Thursday, Sep 24

 

T2.7/8 - Logarithms as Inverse Functions

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Tuesday, Sep 8

 

T2.8 - Lesson 2 - Exponential Growth & Decay

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Monday, Sep 1

 

T2.1 - Lesson 1 - Exponent Laws & Equations

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Friday Aug 28

 

T2.3 - Lesson 6 - Inverse Functions

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Thursday Aug 20 - Friday, Aug 28

 

T2.3 - Lesson 3,4,5 - Functions & Transformations

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes


Here is a link to the assignment

And here is a link to the Function Analysis Template

 

Tuesday Aug 18

 

T2.1 - Lesson 2 - Composition of Functions

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Friday Aug 14

 

T2.1 - Lesson 1 - Introduction to Functions

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Tuesday, Aug 11 - Friday Aug 14

 

T1.1 - Lesson 3 & 4 - Series & Summation Notation

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Friday, Aug 8

 

T1.1 - Lesson 2 - Sequences & Their Application

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes

 

Thursday, Aug 7

 

T1.1 - Lesson 1 - Number Patterns & Sequences

 

Link to Lesson Notes

Link here for PDF version of the PPT notes