This chart on this main page contains a lesson by lesson outline of what is happening in Mr Santowski's Physics class. Links to handouts,notes,labs,quizzes are included.

For other course information, select any links from the left side content menu

Please contact me at any time if you have concerns or questions about the course or your performance in this class


 

 

Lesson Date

 

Lesson Items

 

Tuesday, June 9

 

SEMESTER 2 EXAM

 

Thursday, June 4

Lesson 14

 

Complete Exam Review Portfolio


 

Tuesday, June 2

Lesson 13

 

Complete Portfolio F2


 

Sunday, May 31

Lesson 12

 

Diffraction Patterns & Gratings

Diffraction Patterns

Diffraction grating patterns - Applet


 

Wednesday, May 27

Lesson 11

 

Quiz F2

Interference of Light

Young's Double Slit Experiment


 

Monday, May 25

Lesson 10

 

Interference of Light

Young's Double Slit Experiment


 

Thursday, May 21

Lesson 9

 

Lab F4 - Images in Convex Lenses


 

Tuesday, May 19

Lesson 8

 

Calculating Critical Angles

Images in Curved Lenses


 

Sunday, May 17

Lesson 7

 

Refraction of Light - Problems

Total Internal Reflection

Images in Curved Lenses


 

Wednesday, May 13

Lesson 6

 

Quiz F1

Refraction of Light - Problems

Total Internal Reflection


 

Monday, May 11

Lesson 5

 

Refraction of Light


Lab F4 - Snell's law

Virtual Lab - Link #1


 

Thursday, May 7

Lesson 4

 

Lab F3 - Images in Concave Mirrors

Virtual Lab - Link #1

Virtual Lab - Link #2

Images in Convex Mirrors


Review Worksheet for Images in Spherical Mirrors


 

Tuesday, May 5

Lesson 3

 

Images in Plane Mirrors

Images in Concave Mirrors


 

Sunday, May 3

Lesson 2

 

Light as an Electromagnetic Wave

Wave Model of Light


 

Wednesday, April 29

Lesson 1

 

Ray Model of Light

Lab F1 - The Pinhole Camera


 

Monday, Apr 27

Lesson 11

 

UNIT E TEST

 

Thursday, April 23

Lesson 10

 

Work Period for Portfolio E


 

Tuesday, April 21

Lesson 9

 

Doppler Effect - Link #1

Doppler Effect - Link #2


Sonic Boom - Link #1

Sonic Boom - Link #2

 

Sunday, April 19

Lesson 8

 

Sound Waves


 

Wednesday, April 15

Lesson 7

 

Behaviour of Waves - Ripple Tank Experiments


 

Monday, April 13

Lesson 6

 

Behaviour of Waves - Boundary Behaviour

Behaviour of Waves - Reflection, Refraction, Diffraction

Behaviour of Waves -Interference of Waves


 

Monday, Mar 30

Lesson 4

 

The Nature of a Wave

The Properties of a Wave


 

Wednesday, Mar 26

Lesson 3

 

Conclude Pendulum Lab and discuss results

Key Ideas of SHM


 

Tuesday, Mar 24

Lesson 2

 

SHM & Pendulum Quiz

Set Up Pendulum Lab - Investigating the Relationship Between Period and Length of a Pendulum

Key Ideas of SHM


 

Sunday, Mar 22

Lesson 1

 

Set Up Pendulum Lab - Investigating Factors that Affect the Period of a Pendulum

Class Data for Pendulum Lab - Here is a pdf file of the same class data


Introduction to Key Ideas for Pendulums


 

Wednesday, Mar 18

Lesson 13

 

UNIT D TEST

 

Monday, Mar 16

Lesson 12

 

Complete Portfolio D2

 

Wednesday, Mar 11

Lesson 11

 

Complete Quiz D2 - Conservation of Momentum

Review Collision Types

 

Monday, Mar 9

Lesson 10

 

Complete Lab D2 Data Collection

Start Lab Analysis


Worksheet - 2D Collisions


 

Thursday, Mar 5

Lesson 9

 

Complete Lesson Examples for Conservation of Momentum in 2D Collisions - Link #1

Link #3 - 2D Collisions Notes

Start Lab D2 - Conservation of Momentum Lab


 

Tuesday, Mar 3

Lesson 8

 

Collision Types

Conservation of Momentum in 2D Collisions - Link #1

Conservation of Momentum in 2D Collisions - Link #2 - Animation

Link #3 - 2D Collisions Notes

Worksheet - 2D Collisions


 

Thursday, Feb 26

Lesson 7

 

Collision Types

Conservation of Momentum in 2D Collisions - Link #1

Conservation of Momentum in 2D Collisions - Link #2

2D Collisions Calculator


 

Tuesday, Feb 24

Lesson 6

 

Conservation of Momentum in Explosions

Additional Problems -Momentum & Energy


 

Sunday, Feb 22

Lesson 5

 

Quiz D1 - Total Mechanical Energy


Revisiting Newton's Third Law of Motion

Law of Conservation of Momentum

Examples and Problems


 

Wednesday, Feb 18

Lesson 4

 

Real World Applications of Impulse - Momentum


Worksheet - TME

Impulse - Momentum Worksheet


 

Monday, Feb 16

Lesson 3

 

Impulse

Impulse - Link #1

Further Clarification - Link #2


Momentum

Momentum

Momentum & Impulse


 

Thursday, Feb 12

Lesson 2

 

Perform Lab D1 - Conservation of Mechanical Energy & Pendulums

Further Examples - Link #1

Further Examples - Link #2


 

Tuesday, Feb 10

 

UNIT C TEST

 

Sunday, Feb 8

Lesson 1

 

Conservation of Mechanical Energy - Definition

Conservation of Mechanical Energy - Internal vs External Forces

Conservation of Mechanical Energy - Analysis of Situations with Conservative Forces

Conservation of Mechanical Energy - Examples

Introduce Lab D1 - Conservation of Mechanical Energy & Pendulums


 

Wednesday, Feb 4

Lesson 22

 

Gravitational Fields

 

Thursday, Jan 29

Lesson 21

 

Planetary and Satellite Motion

 

Tuesday, Jan 27

Lesson 20

 

Universal Gravitation

 

Sunday, Jan 25

Lesson 19

 

Universal Gravitation

Worksheet on Universal Gravitation and Satelites

 

Wednesday, Jan 21

TEST

 

SEMESTER EXAM

 

Monday, Jan 19

Lesson 18

 

Kepler's 3 Laws of Planetary Motion

 

Thursday, Jan 15

Lesson 17

 

Kepler's 3 Laws of Planetary Motion

 

Tuesday, Jan 13

Lesson 16

 

Uniform Circular Motion - Centripetal Forces

Uniform Circular Motion - Mathematics of Circular Motion

Review of Circular Motion Concepts

 

Sunday, Jan 11

Lesson 15

 

Uniform Circular Motion - Speed & Velocity & Acceleration

 

Wednesday, Jan 7

Lesson 14

 

Work Period - complete lab analysis and report

Work Period - Start Questions for Portfolio B4

Work Period - start Exam Review Portfolio

 

Monday, Jan 5

Lesson 13

 

Perform Springs Lab

Introduction to Springs (Hooke's Law)

Energy of Springs - Link #1

Energy of Springs - Link #2

 

Thursday, Dec 4

TEST

 

UNIT TEST #2: DYNAMICS

 

Tuesday, Dec 2

Lesson 12

 

Design and Perform Power Lab

 

Sunday, Nov 30

Lesson 11

 

Potential Energy

Kinetic Energy

Powerpoint notes on Energy

Worksheet on Energy

 

Wednesday, Nov 26

Lesson 10

 

Worksheet #1 on Work & Power

Worksheet #2 on Work & Power

Notes on Power

Powerpoint notes on Power

 

Monday, Nov 24

Lesson 9

 

Complete Perform Lab B2 - Newton's Second Law

Complete Friction Lab

Notes on Work

 

Thursday, Nov 20

Lesson 8

 

Worksheet on Friction

Perform Lab B2 - Newton's Second Law

 

Sunday, Nov 16

Lesson 7

 

Newton's Third Law - Quiz

Link to Friction ppt

Internet resource for an understanding of friction

Worksheet on Friction

 

Wednesday, Nov 12

Lesson 6

 

Link to Newton's Third Law

Another resource for an understanding of Newton's 3rd Law

Quiz B1

 

Monday, Nov 10

Lesson 5

 

Newton's Second Law - Free Fall and Apparent Weight

Link to Free Fall & Newton's Second Law

Elevator Problem

Elevator Physics Link #1

Apparent Weight Link #2

Falling in Air - Sky Diving


 

Wednesday, Nov 5

Lesson 4

 

Newton's Second Law

Link to Newton's Second Law

 

Monday, Nov 3

Lesson 3

 

Review Newton's First Law

Newton's First Law Quiz

Complete Lab B1 - Balanced Forces

 

Thursday, Oct 30

TEST

 

UNIT TEST #1: KINEMATICS

 

Tuesday, Oct 28

Lesson 2

 

Equilibrium - Balanced & Unbalanced Forces

Lab B1 - Balanced Forces

 

Sunday, Oct 26

Lesson 1

 

Start Unit 2 - Forces

Introduction to Forces


 

Thursday, Oct 23

 

SUBMIT PORTFOLIOS


 

Wednesday, Oct 22

Lesson 21

 

Unit A2 Review Period


 

Monday, Oct 20

Lesson 20

 

Review Period for Projectile Motion/Portfolio A2

Data Analysis from Lab A4


 

Thursday, Oct 16

Lesson 19

 

Quiz A3

Here are some Worksheet for Horizontal Projectiles

Perform Lab A4 - Projectile Motion


 

Tuesday, Oct 14

Lesson 18

 

Class Examples on Projectile Motion

Here is our in class Worksheet for Horizontal Projectiles

Link for resource to review/clarify horizontally launched projectiles


 

Sunday, Oct 12

Lesson 17

 

Lesson Notes on Projectile Motion


Internet Resources:

(A)Projectile Motion from Glenbrook

(B)One Dimensional Projectiles

(C)Two Dimensional Horizontal Projectiles

Link for resource to review/clarify horizontally launched projectiles

 

Wednesday, Oct 8

Lesson 16

 

Lesson Notes & Examples on Adding Non-Perpendicular Vectors:

(1) Scale Diagrams

(2) Trig Method (Sine & Cosine Law)

(3) Vector Components & Vector Resolution


Internet Resources:

(A)Vector Resolution from Glenbrook

(B)Vector Components & Trig Methods

 

Monday, Oct 6

Lesson 15

 

Lesson Notes & Examples on Adding Perpendicular Vectors:

Internet Resources:

(A)Vector Addition from Glenbrook


Lesson Notes & Examples on Vector Components & Vector Resolution

Internet Resources:

(A)Vector Resolution from Glenbrook


 

Monday, Sept 29

Lesson 14

 

Lesson Notes on Vectors - Relative Velocities

Here are some Worksheet for Relative Velocities

 

Thursday, Sept 25

Lesson 13

 

Submission of Portfolio A1

Take Quiz A2

Introduce Vectors - Fundamentals & Operations

Here are some interactive lessons with vectors. Work with Lesson 1 & 4

 

Tuesday, Sept 23

Lesson 12

 

Free Fall Exercises - Worksheet

Consolidate Lab A3 on Free Fall - Determining ag

 

Sunday, Sept 21

Lesson 11

 

Free Fall

Perform Lab A3 on Free Fall - Determining ag

 

Wednesday, Sept 17

Lesson 10

 

Hand in Lab A2

Free Fall

Perform Lab A3 on Free Fall - Determining ag

 

Monday, Sept 15

Lesson 9

 

Problem Solving Session - Acceleration and Kinematic Equations


Worksheet #1

Worksheet #2


Reading on Free Fall

 

Thursday, Sept 11

Lesson 8

 

Problem Solving Session - Acceleration and v-t graphs and displacement


Reading on Kinematic Equations


WORKSHEETS on Motion Graphs:

Worksheet #1

Worksheet #2

Worksheet #3

Worksheet #4

Worksheet #5

Worksheet #6

 

Tuesday, Sept 9

Lesson 7

 

Quiz A1


Perform Uniform Acceleration Lab

 

Sunday, Sept 7

Lesson 6 Outline

 

Work through Partner Quiz #1

Work through Partner Quiz #2


Discuss Velocity-Time graphs

Work through position-time graph animations from The Physics Classroom


Perform Uniform Acceleration Lab

 

Wednesday, Sept 3

Lesson 5 Outline

 

Discuss Uniform Motion Lab

Distribute and discuss Portfolio A1 scoring rubric


Discuss Position-Time graphs

Work through position-time graph animations from The Physics Classroom

Work through an interactive position-time graph

 

Monday, Sept 1

Lesson 4 Outline

 

Discuss Assigned Reading: Describing Motion with diagrams Lesson 2 of the 1D - Kinematics Unit from the Physics Classroom Tutorial

Students work through Motion Diagrams from ActivPhysics OnLine from Addison Wesley, Do Problems 1-4 in Question 7

Perform Uniform Motion Lab

 

Thursday, August 28

Lesson 3 Outline

 

Review Motion Terminolgy

Introduce Motion Diagrams

Assign Reading: Describing Motion with diagrams Lesson 2 of the 1D - Kinematics Unit from the Physics Classroom Tutorial

Motion Diagrams from Scott Bonham, Western Kentucky University and Physlet by Wolfgang Christian, Davidson College

Motion Diagrams from ActivPhysics OnLine from Addison Wesley

 

Tuesday, August 26

Lesson 2 Outline

 

Review Graphing Procedures

Review numercy concepts like Scientific Notation, Significant Digits, SI units

Assign Homework: Review Motion Terminology by reading Lesson 1 of the 1D - Kinematics Unit from the Physics Classroom Tutorial

 

Sunday, August 24

Lesson 1 Outline

 

Course Introduction

CART Experiment Class Data